envelope Contact 

Former Presidents 


Douglas P. Boer is currently at the University of Canberra. Prior to his current position, he worked as an academic at the University of Waikato, Hamilton, New Zealand for seven years and before that he worked for the Correctional Service of Canada for 15 years in a variety of contexts including sex offender therapist and treatment programme supervisor. He has published a number of articles and structured clinical assessment manuals for use with sexual offenders. Professor Boer is also on a number of editorial boards including the Journal of Intellectual and Developmental Disability, Sexual Abuse: Australia, New Zealand, and the British Journal of Forensic Practice. Finally, he is an active clinician, assessor, and clinical supervisor.


William L. Marshall was Director of Rockwood Psychological Services. Bill has 417 publications including 20 books, the latest of which (Marshall, Marshall, Serran & O'Brien 2011 "A strength-based approach to the treatment of sexual offenders" American Psychological Association, Washington, D.C.) won the "Book of the Year" award from the Society for Sex Therapy and Research. Bill is (or has been) on the Editorial Boards of 17 international journals and was in 2003 elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada for his contributions to science. In 2006, Bill was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada in recognition of his contributions to making society safer both nationally and internationally. This is the highest honor a Canadian citizen can receive. He was IATSO president from 2008 to 2012. 


Friedemann Pfäfflin, Prof. Dr. med., founding president of IATSO. He had his training as psychoanalyst at the Michael Balint Institute in Hamburg, Germany, and his training as psychiatrist at the University Clinic in Hamburg, Germany, where he worked for appr. 20 years in the Department of Sex Research before, in 1992, moving to Ulm University. There, he was head of the Department of Forensic Psychotherapy until 2010. He is the co-founder of three scientific journals (1) Recht & Psychiatry [Law & Psychiatry], founded in 1983, and still a co-editor, (2) Zeitschrift für Sexualforschung [Journal of Sex Research], founded in 1988, co-editor until 1991, and (3) The International Journal of Transgenderism, founded in 1997, coeditor until 2007, has more than 420 publications, and written/edited/coedited 19 books. The major topics of his research are sex research, transsexualism and transgenderism, the history of German psychiatry during Nazi times, and forensic psychiatry and psychotherapy.